Storm Alert

Spookwoman

Guest Engelsman Finland

The -bz and density has moved in the right direction. Now we need to see if it hits... Misses or is traveling real slow. I think we should know by about midnight.

image.jpg

The forescast predicts kp level 6 and 7, but I only see in real-time kp 2. Does it mean that the solar wave has not arrived to the earth yet? 

I am new in this field so sorry if I am asking someting stupid. 

Thanks!

Welcome @GVB on the SpaceWeatherLive Community! 

The CH hasn't arrived yet. As we wrote in our front page article, we already saw it coming that the Coronal Hole wouldn't arrive today, it's more likely to arrive tomorrow, that's why we issued a mid lat watch for tomorrow evening instead of today. The Coronal Hole was a bit smaller than previous rotation and thus speeds are potentially lower and thus arrives later. Nevertheless it's a good time to get familiar with all the Space Weather stuff so ask away if you have questions ;)

7 minuten geleden, danderson500 zei:

NOAA seems to keep saying G3 why do you think it will be G2 instead?

We are predicting G2 geomagnetic storm conditions because the coronal hole has shrunk in size and there was only 1 period last rotation where the G3 level was reached. G3 levels will again be possible but the chance is higher that we only see G2 levels is our opinion. But as always it all comes down to just watching the data and see what is going to happen. Nobody knows for sure. I love to be surprised and have a G3 storm of course with aurorae being reported from the entire middle latitudes.

18 minutes ago, Vancanneyt Sander said:

Welcome @GVB on the SpaceWeatherLive Community!