Region 2765

MinYoongi

Hey Community.

Today I'm watching the new Sunspot, and at first when it rolled into earth view, it decayed. 

Now, it looks like its growing again. How is that possible?  Does it now count as a bigger threat for big solar flares? Sorry, im new to spaceweather. :)

is there any way to predict if it will decay again? I saw your update on Facebook and wondered if you maybe could do them more often. :)

• Like 1

It is natural for sunspots to wax and wane until they fade out of existence. It's kind of like a thunder storm, only in the sense that it could go as quickly as it came, or it could last for a long time, or its remnants could bloom into yet another wave of convection.

Remember, though, that sunspots inhibit convection of the plasma around the surface of the sun, and therefore heating and cooling take place at very uneven rates; in its attempt to reach equilibrium, it instead amplified the total entropy and thus we have a more interesting phenomenon to observe.

• Thanks 1

Thanks alot for your answer Christopher! 

I'd love to hear more. Im really interested.

Do you think it will get even bigger now? It grew 1 more tiny sunspot i think!

Btw: i have a problem figuring out if something is only active or a real sunspot, any tips?:) ty!

• Like 1

A great supplementary source of information about sunspots, coronal holes, and events throughout the day, in addition to some archived information throughout the years(in case you feel like digging in to the nitty gritty) is this website: http://www.solen.info/solar/

I usually come to the Space Weather Live website first, to see anything worth seeing. If there appears to be activity, I then check that website for annotated insight as to the current events.