Opinions regarding new app

Guest Viktor Nilsson

Guest Viktor Nilsson

Hi! I've been working on an "aurora app" for iOS for some time now and it is about to be released and would love to hear what you think about my idea. I'm just a normal developer with interest for aurora, in other words no expert, but I decided to put an app together with data I would be interested in, and would now love to here you expert's (and normal user's) opinion about my approach and data I put together.

So the unique thing with my app would be two things mainly

1. Local aurora probability prediction. You can see what chances you have for auroral activity where you are. Does not take weather conditions into account, and is based on the Aurora 30 min forecast from NOAA.
2. Push notifications for above service, and also Kp as well as solar wind data (Bz, Bt and speed) (IAP).

What I've heard, the Aurora 30 min forecast from NOAA is not as accurate as looking on a local magnetometer, especially during active conditions, but I thought it could be a good indicator together with the Kp, but would like to hear your opinion regarding this. Is this correct and what do you think about my assumption? Would it be useful to be able to receive alerts for solar wind components at all?

The app is not live yet but screenshots can be seen here: http://viktornilsson.com/apps/auroranow/

All kinds of feedback and comments are highly appreciated!
Big thanks in advance!

Best regards,

Viktor Nilsson

Hi and welcome on Spaceweatherlive!